Print on Demand Affiliate Programs Compared (2026)

By Marcus WrightUpdated 13 October 20266 min read

We participate in several of the programs described on this page. Terms below are quoted from each company’s own published policy rather than from third-party roundups. How this site is funded.

The short answer

Printify pays 5% of referred customers’ spend for 12 months with a 90-day cookie, via PartnerStack. Printful’s published terms confirm a 12-month affiliate period per referred customer, a 30-day cookie and a $25 minimum PayPal withdrawal, but do not state a commission percentage. Shopify pays a per-merchant bounty via Impact with a 30-day cookie.

Key takeaways

  • Most rates quoted on roundup sites are years out of date — check the program dashboard before projecting revenue.
  • Printify’s 90-day cookie is three times Printful’s, which matters because supplier research has a long consideration window.
  • The 12-month trailing commission on both suppliers is worth more than a one-off bounty when the referred seller trades consistently.
  • Shopify pays the largest single payout and the least durable one.
  • Tool subscriptions convert at lower volume but produce steadier recurring income.

Print-on-demand affiliate programs are an unusually good fit for content sites, because the audience is actively looking for a supplier and the decision has a long consideration window. They are also frequently misreported — rates quoted on roundup sites are often years out of date. What follows is taken from each company’s own published terms, with the gaps flagged rather than filled in with guesses.

The programs at a glance

Program Commission Cookie Duration Payout
Printful Not stated in public terms; commonly listed around 10% 30 days 12 months from first order PayPal, $25 minimum
Printify 5% of referred customer spend 90 days 12 months PayPal, monthly
Shopify Varies by region and plan; per qualifying merchant 30 days Per-signup bounty Via Impact

Printful

Printful’s published affiliate policy is specific on mechanics and silent on the headline rate. It confirms a 30-day cookie, an affiliate period of 12 months from the referred customer’s first order, commissions on eligible products and on Growth plan subscriptions (the latter as a one-time payment), and exclusion of tax and shipping from the commission calculation. Payouts are via PayPal in USD, within one to three business days of a withdrawal request, with a $25 minimum.

Third-party directories widely list the rate at around 10%, but since Printful does not state it in the public document, treat that as indicative and confirm it in your own dashboard before building revenue projections on it.

The 12-month affiliate period is the valuable part. Print-on-demand sellers who stick around generate recurring product volume, so a referral that works is worth considerably more than a single-order bounty. Printful’s program details are here.

Printify

Printify is the clearer of the two: 5% of what your referrals spend, for 12 consecutive months, with a 90-day cookie. Payouts go monthly to PayPal. The program runs through PartnerStack, applications take a couple of minutes and are reviewed within about two working days.

The 90-day cookie is three times Printful’s and matters more than it sounds. Someone researching print-on-demand suppliers in January frequently does not open an account until March. Printify’s program is here.

Shopify

Shopify’s program pays per qualifying merchant signup rather than as a share of ongoing spend, with the amount varying by region and the plan the merchant takes. It runs through Impact and has a 30-day cookie. It is the highest per-conversion payout of the three and the least durable, since there is no trailing revenue once the bounty is paid.

For a print-on-demand audience it works well as a secondary offer — the person setting up a store needs both a storefront and a supplier, so the two referrals sit naturally in the same article. Shopify’s affiliate program is here.

Tool and research programs

Research and design tools convert at lower volume but often at better rates, and they attract buyers who are already committed enough to pay for software. Merch Informer and Merch Titans both operate affiliate programs on their subscription products. Because these are recurring SaaS subscriptions rather than one-off purchases, a small number of conversions can produce steadier monthly income than a larger number of supplier referrals.

Which to prioritise

How to structure a print-on-demand affiliate site

Suppliers as the core offer — Printful and Printify, because every reader needs one and the 12-month windows compound.

Shopify as the secondary — higher one-off payout, naturally adjacent, no cannibalisation of the supplier referral.

Tools as the margin — lower volume, recurring, and they convert the more serious segment of your audience.

Rates and terms on all of these change without much announcement. Check the figures against the program’s own dashboard before you publish them, and re-check them annually — most of the wrong numbers circulating online were correct once.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Printful affiliate commission rate?

Printful’s public affiliate policy does not state a percentage. It confirms commissions are paid on eligible products and on Growth plan subscriptions, over a 12-month affiliate period per referred customer, with a 30-day cookie and a $25 minimum PayPal withdrawal. Third-party sources commonly cite around 10%, which should be verified in the affiliate dashboard.

What is the Printify affiliate commission rate?

Printify pays 5% of what referred customers spend, for 12 consecutive months, with a 90-day cookie. Payouts are monthly via PayPal, and the program runs through PartnerStack.

Which print-on-demand affiliate program pays the most?

It depends on the referral’s behaviour rather than the headline rate. Shopify pays the largest single bounty per qualifying merchant, while Printful and Printify both pay a share of ongoing spend for 12 months, which is worth more where the referred seller trades consistently.

Do you need a website to join print-on-demand affiliate programs?

Not always, but it helps. Most programs accept applicants with an established audience on any channel, including YouTube and social platforms. Applications without any visible audience are the ones most likely to be declined.

How long do print-on-demand affiliate cookies last?

Printify’s cookie lasts 90 days, while Printful’s lasts 30 days and Shopify’s 30 days. Separately, Printful and Printify both pay commission on a referred customer’s spend for 12 months after their first order, which is a different window from the cookie.

Related guides

Comparison

Printful vs Printify

The supplier decision your referred readers are trying to make.

Beginner guide

How to start a print-on-demand business with AI

The build these programs sit alongside, start to finish.

Marcus Wright

Marcus has built and sold a print-on-demand content site and writes here about supplier economics and AI-assisted product workflows. Program terms on this page were read from each company’s published policy on the date shown above.